2011 26/10
IRB hosts awards after World Cup climax

Rugby's players of the year have been awarded in a ceremony in New Zealand, BBC News reports.

Upon completion of the World Cup, the stars of international rugby swapped their jerseys for designer menswear to attend the 2011 IRB awards held at Auckland's Vector Arena.

Rather unsurprisingly, New Zealand were crowned 'Team of the Year', upon winning the World Cup. Likewise, head coach Graham Henry took home the award for 'Coach of the Year'.

Not all the awards of the evening went the All Blacks' way, however, with France captain Thierry Dusautoir awarded 'Player of the Year' whilst 'Try of the Year' was Australia's Radike Samo's effort against the old rivals at this year's Tri-Nations tournament.

'Junior Player of the Year' meanwhile, went to England's George Ford, the first Northern Hemisphere player to do so since Lionel Beauxis and the first Brit since Gavin Henson.

Speaking to of the accolade, Ford enthused: "It's a massive honour especially when you consider the calibre of player who have won it in the past as well as the others nominated.

"I couldn't believe it when I found out to be honest, but I've got to be quick to point out that rugby is not an individual sport. All of the lads were awesome throughout the whole campaign and I'd like to think that I'm picking up the award on behalf of them."

Précédent Suivant
Inscrivez-vous à la newsletter